The Answer for Juliana

11 11 2010

To learn more about Joint Council’s National Adoption Month Advocacy Campaign-Click Here

My daughter sleeps soundly tonight.

She will wake up tomorrow and I will wash her face, dress her in clean clothing, and give her a full meal.  Before I take her to daycare and begin my work, we will play for a while and maybe read a book or two.  We will talk about the birthday party we went to just a few days ago and she will remind me of the colors of all the balloons.  We will practice numbers, colors and maybe even sing a few of songs.

While driving to daycare, we will play “I Spy” in the car – and she will tell me what she sees out of the car window.  Once at daycare, she will be surrounded by wonderful women who will throw their arms around her upon our arrival.  She will play– and sometimes argue– with the other children in her group.

Later in the week, she will be at her grandparent’s house where she will be spoiled with love, toys and adventures.  She will hug her great grandmother.  She will blow bubbles outside.

At dinner, I will come up with some creative tactic to get her to eat a little bit more than she prefers.  Before bedtime, when I put her in the bathtub, she will fight with me slightly; because she would much rather watch Wonder Pets on television.  But, once she is all clean and shiny, she will say to me, “I smell good Mama!”

This weekend, she will see her cousins and she will not be able to contain her excitement when they play with her on the floor. We will go next door to the park, and she will smile with exuberant pride as she soars down the slide.

This, all because of a wonderful thing called “adoption”.

This, because Russia allowed me the privilege to adopt my daughter.

This, because the United States allowed me the right to immigrate my girl and be able to call her an American Citizen.

This, because every child has the fundamental right to a family.

My story is not unique for those who know about international adoption.  It was painstakingly long.  It was extraordinarily expensive.  It was emotional.  It was hard.  Sometimes, it was agonizing.  But all throughout the process, I was fueled by knowing what would be at the end of the long journey.  And when one day I received an email from my adoption agency, telling me that a “match” had been made, along with a photo of my sweet girl, everything was worth it.  What would end up being 5 trips in 13 months to Russia would finally pay off for me – but more importantly… for my daughter.

On September 1, 2008, I woke up in a small hotel room in Tver, Russia, and got ready to go to the Teremok Orphanage to pick up my girl.  The women who had been my daughter’s caretakers for her first 14 months of life had dressed her in the clothing I had given them the night before.  They walked us to the front door of the orphanage.  I had to turn my head away from my daughter’s caretakers.  They were crying and I could not bear to look at the pain in their eyes.  My girl had been well cared for.

I was grateful.

I was relieved.

And suddenly, I was a mother. But more important than that – far more important than that…  Juliana became a daughter.  She became a citizen of a country where her possibilities are boundless.  And magically, she became a member of a family that immediately welcomed her and effortlessly shower her with unconditional love that she will never go without.

She will always have a pillow on which to rest her head.  She will never be without food.  She will have healthcare.  She will go to school.  She will have choices.  She will be able to drive a car.  She will be able to vote.  One day, she will go to college and learn that she can be anything she wants and pursue whatever it is in which she is interested.  She will be an integral part of a society that will value her.

My daughter sleeps soundly tonight.

This was The Answer for Juliana, Be The Answer for another child by visiting the Both End Burning Website– watch the video, read the petition and sign it today!

 

P.S. we don’t choose the winner of the $50 gift card to Target for yesterday’s task until next week Wednesday so keep sending your “I am the Answer” pictures!  For more info (read the bottom of the post).


Actions

Information

12 responses

11 11 2010
Jessica Cade

A truly wonderful story!!

11 11 2010
Angela

This is beautiful, simply beautiful…

11 11 2010
lina

Juliana and Emily are both so blessed!

11 11 2010
Ethel

Wonderful,true and happy !Both of you are blessed….

11 11 2010
Patti

Great story. Now somebody please post a story of an American kid who is going to have a happy ending.

11 11 2010
Be The Answer

Patti – Thank you for your comment. We’ve posted one story about a child from the U.S. foster care system who has thrived – https://betheanswerforchildren.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/the-answer-for-minuette-mae/. We have three more stories of children from the U.S. foster care system who have thrived coming up in the next few weeks – two of which will be posted this weekend so make sure you check out our blog! And one of a child who as adopted as infant in the U.S. as well.

11 11 2010
Mamma O & Herbie

Emily and Juliana…………you have brightened many lives!

11 11 2010
Leslie and Justin

To see the laughter when the two of you are together and see how much love has been created speaks loud and clear. I hope the year ahead brings the chance for so many more success stories. We are in awe of the journey you took to bring our dear Jules to her new life hear. She brings such joy to those who have been blessed to join your extended family. With all of our love..Les and Justin

12 11 2010
Savta Roberta

If I knew years ago what I know today, I would have seriously considered adopting after we had our two biological children. Having traveled to Russia with Emily on two of her trips, I cannot remove from my mind the image of the children left behind – the ones who, for an assortment of reasons, will spend their lives in orphanages. We have watched Juliana blossom as a member of a loving family. Those other children deserve the same opportunity.

12 11 2010
Paula

Juliana is safe and secure within the center of a loving family. To know her is to love her. How lucky we are! The first time I understood adoption was after I gave birth to my first child. I never thought that adoption could be an option for me and I would have been content to be childless if I didn’t have my own biological child. Then, after twelve years of marriage, my son was born around the same time that there was a big story about two children being switched at birth. Decisions had to be made about how these children would be raised several years after the fact. My husband and I talked about this event and decided that if anything like that ever happened to us there was NO WAY that we would give up our beloved baby boy. We would just have to be an “aunt and uncle” to our “biological” child. THAT’S when I understood adoption.and that love is love, and DNA has nothing to do with it.

18 11 2010
Melissa

had me in tears. that is the way it is. what a wonderful tribute for NAM

26 11 2013
Marie

An unconditional love that is sensed even when they are apart. Fantastic story of love!

Leave a Reply

