USCIS Announces New I-600A & I-600 Process

23 03 2010

The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS) has announced changes to the way in which “orphan” or “non-Hague” adoption applications are submitted and processed.  The new process centralizes all I-600A and I-600 applications into one location at the National Benefits Center (NBC) in Missouri.  Joint Council, as a member of the Hague Stakeholders Work Group, has advocated for this type of transition for a number of years and fully supports the centralization of the non-Hague adoption process.

The changes to filing a petition for the adoption of a child born in a foreign country not only centralizes all aspects into one location at the NBC but most importantly will streamline the process.  The NBC is currently responsible for the processing of all Hague adoption petitions and if history is a guide, the changes to the non-Hague adoption process may have a few bumps in the road, but will ultimately make the process more transparent, consistent and timely.

USCIS published an announcement regarding the new way to file an I-600A or I-600 (“orphan” or “non-Hauge”) application.  The full announcement is available by clicking  here.

As part of the NBC’s continuing outreach to and partnership with our community, webinars for Adoption Service Providers will be conducted with a goal of ensuring that prospective adoptive families can be served at the highest level and with the most accurate information available.

Joint Council extends its appreciation to the leadership and staff at the National Benefits Center for this much needed improvement.


Actions

Information

8 responses

27 05 2010
DANA

how can i apopt a niece and a nephewthat live in mexico. i’m a us citizen. what process do i have to follow

27 05 2010
DANA

how can i apopt a niece and a nephew that live in mexico. i’m a us citizen. what process do i have to follow

30 05 2010
Elaine

I have a few questions I needed clarification on but first let me explain my scenario and I hope you can point me in the right direction.

My Husband and I are born American citizens living in Conyers GA. (USA) my father is an American citizen of Haitian origin and flew down to Haiti to check on our relatives. He met a friend of the family who has a 2 year old little girl that she can no longer take care of because of the earthquake she does not have the financial means and would like to give her child up for adoption. We are willing to adopt her child but we are not sure what needs to be done according to homeland security. What steps do we need to take and how long is the process? Considering that this will be a private adoption from birth parents to adopted parents (this is us).

Would this be considered Orphan (Non-Hague)? or I-600 an Immediate Relative petition? And if it is how long will it take to file a relative petition? and the entire process?

Thank you

Elaine Kpargarhai

30 09 2010
nbc.adoptions@dhs.gov

please I,want to know how much longer it will take to finish process for my son case l the receit:number is SIM8827400019
thank you
roosevelt louis

8 12 2010
SABIRA

i would like to know how long it will take to finish the process for my kids their cases number are : WAC 0611752792 and WAC 0611752822.Their cases were sent back to uscis office from djibouti. What documents miss it?
They are in djibouti horn of africa.
THANK YOU

6 10 2011
MONSON ONUGU

Sir,
I have obtained approval for my I-600A. I have competed the I-600
I do not know where to forward it.
Do iforward it to the Embassy Office in Nigeria or to USCIS
here in USA
Thank you

10 02 2013
Maria B. Ramos

I would like to know how long it will take to finish the process for my case # SIM8829200510 Thank you.

25 07 2013

Leave a Reply

